Our network

Kent District Library announces Write Michigan Contest winners | Arts & Culture

Title (Max 100 Characters)

Kent District Library announces Write Michigan Contest winners
Kent District Library announces Write Michigan Contest winners

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich.—Six people from Grand Rapids and Ada are among the winners of the second annual Write Michigan Contest.

Judges reviewed nearly 900 entries from writers across the state- that’s nearly double the amount the received last year.  Nearly 500 of the submissions were to the new teen category.

All last month, the public voted for their favorites on the Write Michigan website.  The winners were announced this week.  The Judge’s Choice winners took home a $250 award; Judges’ Choice runners-up were awarded $100.  Readers’ Choice winners were also awarded $250.

This year’s winners are:

Adult Category

  • Judges’ Choice Winner: Oscar Bee, Chelsea
  • Judges’ Choice Runner-Up: Connor Newton, Waterford
  • Readers’ Choice Winner: Eric Dobson, Ypsilanti
  • Published Finalists: Anne Brandt, Benton Harbor; Robert Vander Lugt, Caledonia

Teen Category

  • Judges’ Choice Winner: Chloe Lewis, Holt
  • Judges’ Choice Runner-Up: Natalie Bradshaw, Grand Rapids
  • Readers’ Choice Winner: Jackie Guzman, Okemos
  • Published Finalists: Emma Fox, Grand Rapids; Owen Purdue, Grand Rapids

Youth Category

  • Judges’ Choice Winner: Sarah Hoogstraten & Mary Bonnell, East Lansing
  • Judges’ Choice Runner-Up: Lilliana Appie, Ada
  • Readers’ Choice Winner: Tyler Barnes, Lansing
  • Published Finalists: Suchir Gupta, Ada; Holly Holland, Diamondale; Andrew Travis, Grand Rapids

The winners will be honored during an awards ceremony March 22 at 2 p.m. at Kent District Library’s Kentwood branch, 4950 Breton SE.  Novelist Kristina Riggle will speak at the event.  Riggle will also write the foreword for the 2014 Write Michigan anthology, which will feature all of the winning entries.