Our network

My Town: West Ottawa High School earns top ratings at Solo & Ensemble Festival | Arts & Culture

Title (Max 100 Characters)

My Town: West Ottawa High School earns top ratings at Solo & Ensemble Festival
My Town: West Ottawa High School earns top ratings at Solo & Ensemble Festival


Twenty-one soloists, two duets, a trio, three quartets, three choirs and two ensembles from West Ottawa High School received first division ratings at the Michigan School Band & Orchestra Association District 10 Solo & Ensemble Festival at East Kentwood High School on January 31, 2015.

By earning the first division (or excellent) ratings, they qualified to participate in the MSBOA State Solo & Ensemble Festival to be held March 21 at Grandville High School.

“The number of first division medals have been steadily increasing over the past decade,” noted Michael Hamann, band director. “I think this may be the most first division medals our kids have ever earned at this event.”

Receiving first division ratings were the following soloists: Mitchell Frauenheim, Jennifer Jasperse, Kaylie McConnell, Elizabeth Nguyen and Siena Radakovitz on the violin; Deja Carter, viola; Dominic Aquino, Ethan Heyboer and Hunter Ihrman, cello; Alex Theisen, bass; Petra Braunius, Delania Byerley and Maggie Neuman, flute; Rebecca Jones, clarinet; Abby Shepard, alto saxophone; Aleah Hahn, horn; Ben Hahn and Wes Neuman, trombone; and Quincy Doenges and Garrison Osborn, marimba.

Duets earning the top honor were Rebecca Jones and Erin Jones, woodwind; and Robert Ganzi and Ben Hahn, violin/trombone.

The brass trio of Josh, Ben and Aleah Hahn also received a first division rating as did the string quartets of Jennifer Jasperse, Jared Norwood, Robert Ganzi and Ethan Heyboer, and Alyssa Anderson, Hunter Ihrman, Stephani Ganzi and Riley Vaara, and the saxophone quartet of Abby Shepard, Leia Nakajima, Alondra Chavez and Mitchell Jones.

              Choirs earning first division ratings were:

  • Woodwind Choir – Delania Byerley, Abby Shepard, Becca Bruins, Katherine Hoekstra, Cameron Miller, Rebecca Jones, Amelia Blythe, Mackenzie Koning, Jessica Bracamonte, Amanda Mejia, Ben Riordan, Alondra Chavez, Maggie Neuman, Susan Fender, Gretchen Schmitz, Petra Braunius, Arandall Richardson, Jr., Mitchell Jones, Leia Nakajima
  • Brass Choir – Annika Anderson, Josh Hahn, Wes Neuman, Matt Misiak, Ben Hahn, Camden Mangelsdorf, Aleah Hahn, Garrett Borgman, Alexis VanAelst, Matthew Vongphachanh, Amanda Frescura, Sarah Cremin, Brandon Newman, Isaac Jimenez, Rachael Pratt, Maddy Bishop, Erick Avendano
  • Trombone Choir – Wes Neuman, Matt Misiak, Ben Hahn, Garrett Borgman, Camden Mangelsdorf, Brianna Lee, Matthew Moraw, Huntar Genigeski, Daniel Gonzalez

The percussion chamber ensembles of Jacob Duckworth, Logan Ruiz, Aaron Stefanovsky, Andrea Nguyen, Jack Kleinjans, Zebedee Miller, Quincy Doenges, Andy Garcia, Nick Altamira and Drew Deur; and Garrison Osborne, Brandon Pohl, John Jachalke, Aaron Weimar, Ben Shumaker, Devon Balint, Austin Maung, Mitchell Peters, Tate Gilman and Sam Duckworth also earned the top honors.

                Receiving a second division rating for a good performance were violin soloists Megan Greene, Erin Magennis, Brigitte Morren, Anna Smyk and Jacob Zoerhoff; viola soloist Alyssa Anderson; trumpet soloist Alexis VanAelst; violin duet Anna Smyk and Kaylie McConnell; cello duet Noah Schonauer and Luke Nguyen; violin trio Abby LaDuke, Veronica Berger and Allison White and violin trio Brigitte Morren, Summer Hoang and Breanna Bruechert;