Our network

The Eclipse Awards Announces 2015 Film and Video Nominees and the Hyperion Award Recipient | Arts & Culture

Title (Max 100 Characters)

The Eclipse Awards Announces 2015 Film and Video Nominees and the Hyperion Award Recipient
Arts & Culture, News
The Eclipse Awards Announces 2015 Film and Video Nominees and the Hyperion Award Recipient

News Release:

The 2015 Eclipse Awards, presented by

WKTV, the WMFVA and the Compass College of Cinematic Arts, today

announced its nominees and Hyperion Award recipient voted by jurors– a

diverse group of 20 industry leaders, including award-winning filmmakers,

producers, acclaimed actors, and entrepreneurs. The awards ceremony

to take place on May 7 at the Grand Rapids Art Museum in the Cook

Auditorium at 7:30PM. Tickets are $10 each and can be purchased at

www.theeclipseaward.com or by calling 616.261.5700.

With the West Michigan Film & Video Alliance as the judging sponsor,

judges from London, England, Toronto, Canada, New York City and Los

Angeles poured over this year’s entries and selected nominees in each

category. “We’re tremendously pleased to be working with the WMFVA

and Compass College,” said Tom Norton, WKTV ExecutiveDirector. “They

really believe in the importance of West Michigan having regional awards

recognition to help foster the creative spirit.”

Every region has its share of media leaders who have contributed to the

building of a healthy, thriving media and production community. They

have done this by their high standards in their own crafts that inspire


others. They are also the people who have given; taken the

chances; gone on a limb and pursued a dream that benefits present and

future content creators around them. We stand on their shoulders. For this

the production community of all disciplines comes together to single out

this unique individual for recognition. The Hyperion Award is the

recognition that you the creative community give. This year the award will

go to Deanna Morse. Deanna has fostered the creative community in

West Michigan through her Leadership as a professor at GVSU. Morse

began teaching at Grand Valley State University, in 1979 where she is now

an emerita Professor in the School of Communications film and video

program. Deanna was as a leader in using computer graphics for artistic

pursuits, she has produced over fifty independent films. Her work has been

screened internationally; won awards at festivals and is represented in the

permanent collection at the MET. Last year as a member of the

“Animation Collaboration at ArtPrize, their collaboration made it to the

top 25 in the competition, and in 2013, her “Whispers of the Prairie at

GRAM was selected to the juror short list, and of course - the highlight of

any film maker, her work has aired on Sesame Street.She has served on

the board of the ASIFA Midwest USA chapter, on grant panels for the

Michigan Council for the Arts and served on the selection committee of

the Mosaic Film Experience and Kalamazoo Animation Festival

International locally. More information can be found:


The Eclipse Awards honors content creators for Excellence in Craft in the

disciplines of film, television, video, acting, sound, music, writing,

cinematography, special effects and editing. Created by WKTV

Community Television and Media as a means of empowering the West

Michigan “voice” of content creators, the Eclipse Awards has become

the big event for the creative community.

2015 Eclipse Awards Nominees: In the Crafts


Alley Cat – Marie Ullrich, Director

Deadrise – Rich Brauer, Director

Peoples History of the LGBT Community in Grand Rapids, MI –

GirbeEefsting, Director

Holiday Memories of Grand Rapids – Todd Lewis, Director

After Visiting Hours – Jacob De La Rosa, Director

Becoming Made – Mary Brodbeck, Director

Dyrafjordur – Philip Carrel, Director

Through the Dust – Jarrod Flood, Director



Writing in Produced Content

Ironical Chronicles – Susan Gelb, Pamela Roth, Writers

From Somewhere Else – Keith Oppenheim ,Writer

Cinematography and Videography

Deadrise – Richard Brauer, Cinematographer

Sleeping Bear Dunes – Alex Bolen, Cinematographer

Leon's Story – Corwin Tobias, Cinematographer

Mighty One – Doug Remtema, Cinematographer


Peoples History of the LGBT Community in Grand Rapids, MI –

GirbeEefsting, Tom Henry; Editors

Dyrafjordur – Philip Carrel, Editor

LaughFest 5 Years of Smiles –Ben Wilke, Editor

Visual Effects (Both CGI and Makeup)

Make Summer Matter – Jim Schaub, Visual Effects Artist

Original Scoring

Overdrive Reunion Show – Lare Williams

Some Are Born – Jesse Mathieson


Animation Workshop Group – Animation Workshop Group, Animation


Sound Design

God is Good: Bunny DeBarge – Michael Dollar, Sound Producer


Buffalo – William C. McCallum (Roger), Actor

The Door – Ralph Lister (Ian), Actor

After Visiting Hours – Jeffrey Goodrich (Harvey), Actor

Some Are Born – Dominic Ryan Gabriel (Marty), Actor

Primary Categories: FILM AND DIGITAL

Narrative Feature Length (50+ minutes)

Pilot Error – Roger Rapoport, Producer

Buffalo – Michael McCallum, Producer

Deadrise – RichardBrauer, Producer

Narrative Short

The Mooks – Lewis Stone, Producer


Buzzkillers – David Witwer, Producer

Paper Trail – Clayton Saren, Producer

Through the Dust – Jarrod Flood, Producer

Super! – Brad Yarhouse, Producer

Cinema Trailer

Love is Blind – Joe Faultersack, Producer

3:33. AM – Sheri Schafer, Producer


The Viking Ship – Thom Bell, Producer

History or Hoax – Thom Bell, Producer

What is Philanthropy – Salvatore Alaimo, Producer

Leon's Story – Corwin Tobias, Producer

Cancer Warriors – Randy Strobl, Producer

From Somewhere Else – VandanaPednekar – Magal, Producer


Local TV & Cable (One hour time slot)

Holiday Memories of Grand Rapids – Teresa Thome, Patrick Ziegler, Fred

Stella; Producers

Overdrive Reunion Show – Patty Williams, Producer

Local, Regional Segments & Promotional Pieces (under 20 minutes)

GR Film Fest Animated TV Commercial – Brad Yardhouse, Producer

LaughFest 5 Years of Smiles – Ben Wilke, Producer


Online programs, Segments or Promotional Pieces

Laker for a Lifetime – Tyler Wiewiora, Producer

Divine Assistance – Jacob Schmiedicke, Producer

Room to Ride It's About Community – Randy Strobl, Producer

Sponsored by: WKTV, West Michigan Film and Video Alliance, and

Compass College of Cinematic Arts.





Arts & Culture, News